Adoption Anniversary

Nick and I adopted a little white bunny named “Lulu” one year ago today.

IMG_9914

Neither of us had any experience with bunnies, but we knew “she” needed more than the confines of a large Tupperware container with a laundry basket on top.

IMG_9935

We quickly learned that this animal was closer to a dog or cat than a rodent who stays in its cage all day. We let Lulu frolic around my apartment and learn to jump on and off the bed.

We also learned Lulu was potty trained. “She” wouldn’t go to the bathroom anywhere but in “her” cage.

Then, we decided to get Lulu a friend, Lex. And it was time to take Lulu to the vet to be altered.

“Lulu is a boy,” Nick told me on the phone from the vet’s.

So Lulu became Louis, and Louis became a house bunny. We traded the cage for a cat litter box, and gave Louis free reign of my room. When I come home from work, I usually find him buried under a sleeping bag or doing Bunny 500’s around the room.

cropped-img_36941.jpg

Louis has brought so much joy to my life. Whether he’s binkying around the room, sleeping next to me during a nap, or licking my arm while I’m trying to do yoga, Louis is always there to make me laugh and smile. Thanks for one awesome year, Lou!

IMG_7143

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

